Sanity is relative….

New Year

     The holidays are finally over, and a new year has begun.  With the new year comes new hopes, new dreams, and new goals for everyone.  For me, this month marks one full year that I have completed courses towards my Bachelor’s Degree in Graphic Design.  So far, I have maintained a 3.98 GPA, and have secured my spot on the President’s list honor roll every quarter.  My original goal was to keep a 4.0 GPA, however, working at a busy seasonal store, and ending up with 2 very difficult classes during the summer earned me an A-, and dropped my GPA to the 3.98 .  😦   Of course, I was devastated at the drop, but I also am trying to remind myself that it is still a very high GPA, and one not many people could accomplish. 

  I think maybe returning to my original art of preference, which is writing, may be one of my resolutions for this year.  When I was younger, I wrote all the time.  For the past few years, I have focused more on art than creative writing, and not only am I beginning to miss it, but I have also lately been bombarded with ideas for stories that I would like to begin.  I thought maybe I could begin a blog on this site, and set a goal to write at least once a week.  Maybe I can get in more than that, but if not, I will be satisfied with that. 

     I can also post my progress with my projects in school as I complete them.  This could give me a wonderful outlet for both my art, and my writing.  Digital art is new to me.  I was strictly traditional before I started school.  I liked to sketch, draw, and even paint.  Honestly, I didn’t have the first clue as to how to use the software for digital artwork.  Now that I am starting to learn, I am ever more hopeful about my future.  I would like to share my journey with others, and maybe they will be inspired to go after their dreams as well. 

     I wasn’t sure exactly how I would begin my blog, but this seems like as good a way as any.  I look forward to sharing poetry, art, stories, and thoughts with everyone throughout the year, and hope that maybe, as I do, I will even make some new friendships.  Happy New Year, everyone! 

 

Leave a Reply

